Reorienting the Milky Way addon

Description: Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules: Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.

DOJOMO
Topic author
DOJOMO
Topic author
Posts: 47
With us: 11 years 11 months

#1by DOJOMO » 25.11.2011, 13:54

Hello,

I am enjoying Abrahsons wonderful addon and have been creating my own textures using Fridger's mask method. Positioning is difficult, at this stage I've only been able to adjust things by shifting the image in PS Elements. Slow and laborious!
I want to use the method built into Celestia but I can't get the command line to work. I followed the command described in Selden's Notes. I assume that I am making a mistake.

This is what I entered:-
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Celestia\celestia.exe" --verbose > align.log

I get an error message:-
Invalid command line option '>'

BTW the Full Screen command line works:-
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Celestia\celestia.exe" --fullscreen

What am I doing wrong - any thoughts would be most welcome.
Thanks.
Celestia svn 5178
Sony Vaio VPCF12c5E laptop Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 450 @ 2.4GHz, 500gb hard drive, 1Gb nvidea GeForce GT 330M GPU Open GL 2.0, Windows 7 Professional 64 bit. Fully updated.

abramson
abramson
Posts: 402
With us: 14 years
Location: Bariloche, Argentina

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#2by abramson » 25.11.2011, 14:16

Abramson. Abramson.

Dojomo, are you running this command in Celestia's folder? It just works in my system, also W7 64. The operator > is a standard redirection, it works in any system, windows, linux, mac, anything. Open a command window in Celestia's folder and run: celestia --verbose > align.log

Guillermo

t00fri
Avatar
t00fri
Age: 15
Posts: 8800
With us: 15 years 3 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#3by t00fri » 25.11.2011, 15:39

This is what I entered:-
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Celestia\celestia.exe" --verbose > align.log

For example, in Linux, the --verbose option doesn't exist.

By using celestia --help

one finds that only these options are known under Linux:

Code: Select all

Options:
  --conf <file>             Use alternate configuration file
  --dir <directory>         Use alternate installation directory
  --extrasdir <directory>   Use as additional "extras" directory
  --fullscreen              Start fullscreen
  -s, --nosplash            Disable splash screen


Fridger
Image

t00fri
Avatar
t00fri
Age: 15
Posts: 8800
With us: 15 years 3 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#4by t00fri » 25.11.2011, 15:50

DOJOMO wrote:Hello,

I am enjoying Abrahsons wonderful addon and have been creating my own textures using Fridger's mask method. Positioning is difficult, at this stage I've only been able to adjust things by shifting the image in PS Elements. Slow and laborious!

DOJOMO,

the problem is rather that a proper positioning by globally shifting & rotating the add-on image is impossible. This means that the ESO people must have used a different/incompatible projection | coordintate frame | coordinate range, mainly affecting the vertical axis.

Last weekend I have written an email to St?phane Guisard, the head optical engineer for the ESO galaxy project, asking him for a download permission of their maximal image size of 24k (!) as well as for precise info about projections and coordinates used. Once I know this, I can easily reproject the image to what is needed in Celestia, using ISIS3 software.

Unfortunately, St?phane G. has not replied yet....

Fridger
Image

abramson
abramson
Posts: 402
With us: 14 years
Location: Bariloche, Argentina

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#5by abramson » 25.11.2011, 17:35

Dojomo,

By the way, i think that the verbose option is not necessary. You can just run celestia > align.log, enter edit mode with @, reorient and save with !.

G

t00fri
Avatar
t00fri
Age: 15
Posts: 8800
With us: 15 years 3 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#6by t00fri » 25.11.2011, 17:40

abramson wrote:Dojomo,

By the way, i think that the verbose option is not necessary. You can just run celestia > align.log, enter edit mode with @, reorient and save with !.

G

That's actually what I did, too. Works without problems.

Fridger
Image

DOJOMO
Topic author
DOJOMO
Topic author
Posts: 47
With us: 11 years 11 months

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#7by DOJOMO » 25.11.2011, 19:34

Hello to both Fridger and Guillermo,
Many thanks for the v. quick responses.
I understand Fridgers point regarding the unknown projection of the MW texture and the impossible task aligning it. I was simply trying to get some practice with the method, should a texture, that works with Celestia and is able to be displayed accurately, become avaiable.

Unfortunately, I still can't get the Align.log to generate in Celestia. I've tried every combination of the command form. As before --fullscreen works but all else I try generates an error

I have used both the Command Prompt and also the Properties window method by R clicking the desktop shortcut icon.

But very much appreciated,
Celestia svn 5178
Sony Vaio VPCF12c5E laptop Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 450 @ 2.4GHz, 500gb hard drive, 1Gb nvidea GeForce GT 330M GPU Open GL 2.0, Windows 7 Professional 64 bit. Fully updated.

selden
Avatar
selden
Posts: 10010
With us: 14 years 10 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#8by selden » 27.11.2011, 15:05

David,

Where did you get the copy of Celestia that you're using?
Did you build it yourself? If so, how did you do it?

I just now updated to Celestia r5178 and rebuilt it using VS 2008 Express. It recognizes the options with no problems. See the attached screengrab, which shows Celestia having just started and with just a few lines written to the log file.


p.s. I just now verified that it works with Celestia v1.6.1, too.
Selden

DOJOMO
Topic author
DOJOMO
Topic author
Posts: 47
With us: 11 years 11 months

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#9by DOJOMO » 27.11.2011, 16:02

Hi Seleden,
Many thanks for your reply. I do find it quite a problem to use my computer as my eyesight is a bit dodgy, in fact I'm registerred blind but have some residual sight. I would love to build my own version of Celestia but I do get so many things wrong that it would be a bit of a nightmare. I do use Abramson's exe to get the latest versions. A great boon.

I have just now discovered what the problem is, I think, it is my stupidity! The command prompt in Windows permits long folder names including spaces but NOT file names My Celestia folder has several Celestia exe files which I differentiate with descriptive names that have spaces. I run Celestia as a simple short cut on the desktop and only install it properly when I want to ensure that all is up to date.

Many thanks,
Celestia svn 5178
Sony Vaio VPCF12c5E laptop Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 450 @ 2.4GHz, 500gb hard drive, 1Gb nvidea GeForce GT 330M GPU Open GL 2.0, Windows 7 Professional 64 bit. Fully updated.

selden
Avatar
selden
Posts: 10010
With us: 14 years 10 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#10by selden » 27.11.2011, 17:46

David,

I'm glad you found the problem. Spaces often cause issues. Sometimes things will work if you include quotes around a name which contains spaces. Another option is to use an underscore (_) or a minus sign (-) instead of a space.
Selden

DOJOMO
Topic author
DOJOMO
Topic author
Posts: 47
With us: 11 years 11 months

Re: Reorienting the Milky Way addon

#11by DOJOMO » 28.11.2011, 11:28

Hello Selden,
Many thanks for the advice, much appreciated.
David
Celestia svn 5178
Sony Vaio VPCF12c5E laptop Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 450 @ 2.4GHz, 500gb hard drive, 1Gb nvidea GeForce GT 330M GPU Open GL 2.0, Windows 7 Professional 64 bit. Fully updated.


Return to “Help Central”

Who is online (over the past 5 minutes)

Users browsing this forum: 1 guest